Sports banquet honorees announced

Ten athletes from the five local high schools have been nominated for Rapid City High School Athlete of the Year honors as recognized by The OFFICIALS and the Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame.

The five female nominees are Jordynn Toliver of Douglas, Sarra Gutknecht of Central, Rayna Turley of Christian, Elizabeth Schaefer of Stevens and Elizabeth Erlandson of St. Thomas More.

The male athlete nominees are Trevor Severson of Douglas, Kolby Kost of Central, Nicholas Babb of Christian, Cody Bevier of Stevens and Ty Trainor of St. Thomas More.

A pair of former St. Thomas More girls basketball teammates are being recognized as Female College Athletes of the Year in Washington State's Alexys Swedlund and South Dakota's Ciara Duffy.

Former Central wrestler Aero Amo, now at Augustana, and former Stevens runner Kyle Burdick, now at South Dakota State, are the Male College Athletes of the Year.

Archer Sadie Mae Tesch of Central is the Independent Athlete of the Year and former Cobbler standout and current PRCA bronc rider Shane O'Connell is the Professional Athlete of the Year.

Stan Evans, Donna Bader Young, Chas Fox and Darren Paulson are the 2018 Hall of Fame inductees.

The banquet will be held May 7 at 6:30 at the civic center. Tickets are 25 dollars and the event is open to the public.