Schaefer, BeVier win Prep Athletes of the Year

The 46th annual Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame and Recognition Banquet was held tonight at the civic center and it was a Stevens sweep for Rapid City High School Athletes of the Year as Raider junior Elizabeth Schaefer and senior Cody BeVier were honored.

Other nominees were Elizabeth Erlandson of St. Thomas More, Sarra Gutknecht of Central, Jordynn Toliver of Douglas and Rayna Turley of Christian on the girls' side and the male nominees were Christian's Nicholas Babb, Kolby Kost of Central, Trevor Severson of Douglas and More's Ty Trainor.

Schaefer joked that it was nice to get an award that her standout brothers, former South Dakota American Legion baseball player of the year, Greg, and South Dakota Mr. Basketball, Steven, never won.

"When I got like the mail, and Greg was like, 'Oh, this is something you're going to have over Steven and I now.' He was like, this is better than, Greg was Mr. Baseball, pretty much, and Steven was Mr. Basketball," Schaefer said. "And so I'm pretty flattered that I actually get an award like they got."

Schafer's fellow Raider BeVier was also flattered, due to his familiarity with his fellow competitors over the years and his understanding of just how good they were in their respective disciplines.

"I've known a lot of these kids, like Kolby Kost from Central, I grew up with him, playing football and wrestling my whole life, and Trevor Severson, he's a great athlete, I think he's leading the state in jumping right now and I hope he wins state,' BeVier said. "It's quite amazing. I'm so proud that I made this and honestly, all the other athletes deserve this too, and I'm just glad they picked me."

Other honorees on the evening were former St. Thomas More teammates Alexys Swedlund and Ciara Duffy for their college basketball exploits at Washington State and the University of South Dakota, respectively, former Central and current Augie wrestler Aero Amo and former Stevens and current South Dakota State track star Kyle Burdick, pro rodeo star Shane O'Connell, Central archer Sadie Mae Tesch and Hall of Fame inductees Stan Evans, Donna Bader Young, Chas Fox and Darren Paulson.