Class A all-state team released

The South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association released its Class A boys all-state teams today and a couple of junior standouts from the Pine Ridge Reservation were honored for their play this season.

Red Cloud guard Alejandro Rama was named to the second team after averaging 22 points, five rebounds and three assists per game for head coach Christian McGhee's Crusaders.

And Pine Ridge forward Corey Brown received third-team honors after posting averages of 15 points and 14 rebounds per game this season.

Both the Crusaders and Thorpes were state-tournament participants this year ...

The first team was headlined by Vermillion guard AJ Plitzuweit, who averaged over 33 points per game this season; Flandreau senior Dylan LeBrun; Tea Area junior Noah Freidel; Aaron Fiegen of state champion Madison; and Sioux Valley teammates Trevor Hanson and Trevor Olson.

The second team had a pair of Sioux Falls Christian teammates in Koln Oppold and Mitch Goodbary; Madison senior Jaxon Janke; Aberdeen Roncalli sharpshooter Gus Reede and Crow Creek's Joe Sazue III joining Rama.

Brown was joined on the third team by Dell Rapids' Jeffrey Schuch; Miller junior Karst Hunter; Madison's Jadon Janke; Bon Homme's Bryce Scieszinski and the only sophomore named to the team in Canton guard Kayden Verly.