Tourism Advisory Board names officers

Members of the Governor's Tourism Advisory Board. Front row, L. to R.: John Brockelsby, Rapid City; Ted Hustead, Wall; Julie Ranum, Watertown; Ivan Sorbel, Kyle; Kristi Wagner, Whitewood; Ann Lesch, De Smet. Back row, L. to R.: Steve Westra, Sioux Falls; Frank Smith, Gettysburg; Stan Anderson, Wall; Tom Biegler, Sioux Falls; Carmen Schramm, Yankton.

PIERRE, S.D. (KOTA TV) - Officers for the 2018 Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board have been chosen. The elections were held during a meeting in Pierre, Wednesday.

Ivan Sorbel of Kyle will serve as board president with Kristi Wagner of Whitewood serving as vice president.

The board is comprised of citizens and members of the tourism industry from across South Dakota. Appointed by the Governor, board members advocate for area businesses and the South Dakota Department of Tourism.

“The guidance and support the tourism board provides the South Dakota Department of Tourism is critical to the success of the tourism industry in the state,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the Department of Tourism. “We are fortunate to have leaders to look to for expertise and needs of their respective geographic and business areas.”

Current members of the board are: Stan Anderson, Tom Biegler, John Brockelsby, Ted Hustead, Ann Lesch, Julie Ranum, Carmen Schramm, Frank Smith, Ivan Sorbel, Steve Westra and Kristi Wagner.