South Dakota troopers conduct sobriety checkpoints

PIERRE, S.D. (KEVN) - Sixteen sobriety checkpoints have been chosen in 15 counties across South Dakota. The monthly checkpoints aim to dissuade drivers from drinking and driving.

The South Dakota Department of Public Safety has announced checkpoints in the following counties: Butte, Codington, Davison, Edmunds, Hughes, Jerauld, Jackson, Lincoln, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley, Tripp and Union.

Checkpoints will be conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol.