Sobriety checkpoints set for January

PIERRE, S.D. (KEVN) - South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety will kick off 2018 by conducting sobriety checkpoints in 17 counties during January.

The monthly checkpoints are conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol. The checkpoints, according to the DPS, are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving.

Checkpoints are scheduled in the counties of: Brookings, Brown, Butte, Charles Mix, Clay, Codington, Day, Fall River, Hamlin, Hughes, Jackson, Meade, Mellette, Minnehaha, Pennington, Sanborn and Tripp.