2018 Governor’s Awards ceremony later in September

PIERRE, S.D. (KEVN) - Gov. Dennis Daugaard will recognize individuals and employers for their contributions to the rehabilitation and employment of South Dakotans with disabilities at the 2018 Governor’s Awards ceremony on Sept. 25.

The event will be held in the Capitol Rotunda inside the South Dakota State Capitol Building located at 500 E. Capitol Ave. in Pierre starting at 10a.m. CDT.

A reception will follow at the Casey Tibbs Rodeo center located at 210 Verendrye Dr. in Ft. Pierre.

Gov. Daugaard will present awards to the following 2018 recipients:

-Catherine Greseth of Rapid City - Outstanding Citizen with a Disability
-Emma Lemus Arriaga of Watertown - Outstanding Citizen with a Disability
-Ryan Bartz of Sioux Falls - Outstanding Employee with a Disability
-Burger King #1187 of Mobridge - Outstanding Private Employer (Small Employer)
-Global Polymer of Madison - Outstanding Private Employer (Large Employer)
-Outdoor Campus West/South Dakota Game Fish and Parks of Rapid City - Outstanding Employer
-Dave Halverson of Sturgis – Outstanding Transition Services

If you plan to attend or need more information, please contact the South Dakota Department of Human Services (DHS) at 605-773-5990.

The Governor’s Awards ceremony is co-sponsored by the South Dakota Board of Vocational Rehabilitation, Board of Service to the Blind and Visually Impaired, the Statewide Independent Living Council and DHS.