Counties chosen for monthly sobriety checkpoints

PIERRE, S.D. (KEVN) - The South Dakota Department of Public Safety has announced its sobriety checkpoints for the month of March. The checkpoints will be conducted in 17 counties across the state

Counties selected for this month’s checkpoint are: Brookings, Brown, Butte, Codington, Custer, Davison, Hughes, Jerauld, Lincoln, Lyman, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley, Walworth and Yankton.

Monthly checkpoints are conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol and aim to deter people from drinking and driving.